What’s Coming in 2014

Mark,

I actually had some time to spend in the exhibit hall at Midwinter this year, so I ended up coming home with a bunch of galleys. So here are a few things that I’m looking forward to reading, starting with authors we’re already familiar with:

DeepBlueJennifer Donnelly has a new book from Disney Book Group. It’s called Deep Blue, and is first in a series of  “four epic tales” about mermaids. The description makes it sound like a quest-type fantasy, only set in the sea. I ordinarily wouldn’t read a mermaid book, but then, it’s Jennifer Donnelly, and also, I thought that about Monstrous Beauties and was wrong.

TinStarNext, Cecil Castellucci has a new book, called Tin Star, from Roaring Brook. Like Donnelly, Castellucci’s books are all very different, and this one sounds like pure sf: a 16-year-old girl abandoned on a remote space station with aliens, and then three humans crash-land on the station. Okay, got me interested!

GoingOver

I really liked Beth Kephart’s book Small Damages in 2012. This one, from Chronicle Books, takes place in 1983, and is about a girl from West Berlin and a boy from East Berlin.

Perhaps this is the year of star-crossed lovers, because Elizabeth Fama’s Plus One, coming in April, is also about star-crossed lovers, this time a “day” boy and a “night” girl, in a society where the two don’t mix.PlusOne

I have already read it, and we can talk about it more when it’s a bit closer to the publication date, but I liked it enormously. Despite the romantic-looking cover, it is more an adventure/thriller than a romance.

There has already been a lot of buzz about Andrew Smith’s new book, Grasshopper Jungle. I haven’t the slightest idea what it is about. 

Grasshopper

All the blurbs just say things like “original, weird, sexy, thought-provoking, brave, intelligent, gripping, brilliant, hilarious, breathtaking.” And something about genetically modified corn. So there you go. Due out in February, so I’m sure we’ll all hear more soon.

InvisibleRight now I’m reading Marcus Sedgwick’s new book, She Is Not Invisible. I can tell you that so far, at least, it is a straightforward contemporary realistic novel, although since it’s Sedgwick, I won’t assume it’s going to stay that way. Already, we’ve had a bit of philosophy, and some musings about coincidence, and you can see from this cover image that there will be more of that.

That’s all I have time for today. More to come in the next few days and weeks.

– Mom

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Teens

One response to “What’s Coming in 2014

  1. I *loved* the ARC of Grasshopper Jungle. Looking forward to seeing what you think of it!

Leave a Reply

