Mock Printz Titles – Mark’s Take

Mom,

I think you’ve covered the major bases for books we’ve discussed on this blog. I like to push the age discussion a little (if only to annoy Karyn Silverman 😉 so I’d like to see a 10-14 title on our list.  I haven’t read a ton of those, but the one that stands out for me is The Water Castle, by Megan Frazer Blakemore.  I haven’t read Fangirl, but our readers seem to have nixed that one.

I also haven’t gotten to September Girls or Yaqui Delgado, though I’d be happy to plow through any of them for discussion’s sake.  I think considering that neither of us liked Maggot Moon much, we can’t give it much of a fighting chance.

I recently finished Rose Under Fire and Winger, and I may post further on them, but personally I’d vote against either one.  On the other hand, I’m open to discussing them, so we can leave them on the list for now.

So that leaves us with an A-List of 10 titles that one or both of us is ready and willing to defend:

  • Yellowcake, by Margo Lanagan
  • Pieces, by Chris Lynch
  • Far Far Away, by Tom McNeal
  • Corner of White, by Jaclyn Moriarty
  • Primates, by Jim Ottiviani
  • Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell
  • Midwinterblood, by Marcus Sedgwick
  • 17 & Gone, by Nova Ren Suma
  • Boxers, by Gene Luen Yang
  • The Lucy Variations, by Sara Zarr

And a B-List of 6 books we either need to read or need reader support on:

  • The Water Castle by Megan Frazer Blakemore
  • Reality Boy, by A.S. King
  • September Girls, by Bennett Madison
  • Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass, by Meg Medina
  • Winger, by Andrew Smith
  • Rose Under Fire, by Elizabeth Wein

To cut that down to 8-10 titles, we need reader input.  Tell us which books you want to discuss and/or see us discuss.

– Mark

6 Comments

Filed under Awards, Books, Teens

6 responses to “Mock Printz Titles – Mark’s Take

  1. I’ve posted before about my support for these books…but here’s another vote for WINGER, ROSE UNDER FIRE, and REALITY BOY to be considered in the discussion. I’m interested in y’all’s thoughts on them.

  2. Eric Carpenter

    FAR FAR AWAY is a book I’d consider more of a 10-14 than a 14 & up. So you’ve already got one on your list. I’m only about a quarter of the way through it but I’d consider ZOMBIE BASEBALL BEATDOWN another printz contender at the lower end of the age target.

  3. Pingback: Genre vs. Content | crossreferencing

  4. I’m interested that there’s only one National Book Award title on your shortlist. But I guess in the past we’ve discussed the way the Printz seems to focus on somewhat different criteria than the NBA. I haven’t read PICTURE ME GONE and TWO BOYS KISSING (and the latter didn’t make it from the NBA longlist to the shortlist) but if either of you has, let us know what you thought!

    • Mark Flowers

      I see two: FAR FAR AWAY and BOXERS, both of which made the shortlist. I liked TRUE BLUE SCOUTS and THE THING ABOUT LUCK quite a bit, but both are 9-12 titles. From the long list, I also loved loved loved FLORA AND ULYSSES and THE REAL BOY, and admired TANGLE OF KNOTS, but all three are 9-12.

      Haven’t gotten to Rosoff’s book, but I have a hold on it. And to be perfectly frank, unless (and maybe even not then) Levithan’s book wins a big award, I don’t see myself reading it. I haven’t enjoyed a single book he’s written.

  5. Pingback: 2013 Wrap Up | crossreferencing

Leave a Reply

