End of the Year

Mark,

We’re into the final quarter of the year, and it’s time to start thinking seriously about our idea to do a Mock Printz meeting in January. I feel like I haven’t read nearly enough  books this year to do it right, but I’m willing to give it a shot, based on books we’ve both been impressed with, and suggestions from others.

Here’s what Nina said in discussing Heavy Medal’s Mock Newbery criteria:  “We strive for a shortlist that people can actually get their hands on and read, and that provides a     broad and interesting discussion.  We also want to include titles that we really think are good contenders, and your comments help us figure this out.”

Given that, I think we probably need a shortlist of 8-10 titles, which should be manageable to discuss in an afternoon.

I’d also like to find out who among our readership live in the Bay Area and would be interested in participating. We’re thinking about the afternoon of Sunday, January 19, which is just a week before the actual awards are announced. It’s a long weekend–that Monday is Martin Luther King Day. So if you think you might want to attend (you don’t have to make a final commitment yet), let us know in the comments, or email one of us offline (mflowers611@gmail.com or sarahflowers@charter.net).

So here’s my first list of possibles, based on books we’ve talked about here so far this year; I’m more than open to suggestions, especially if you or any of our readers has any inside scoop on books to be released in this final quarter of the year.

17 & Gone, by Nova Ren Suma

Yellowcake, by Margo Lanagan

Pieces, by Chris Lynch

Midwinterblood, by Marcus Sedgwick: My take and yours

Primates, by Jim Ottiviani

Boxers and/or Saints, by Gene Luen Yang

Corner of White, by Jaclyn Moriarty

The Lucy Variations, by Sara Zarr

Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell

Winger, by Andrew Smith

Rose Under Fire, by Elizabeth Wein

We’ve briefly talked about Reality Boy, by A.S. King. Include it?

I still haven’t read Fangirl, by Rainbow Rowell (4 starred reviews–I have it on hold at the library) or September Girls,  by Bennett Madison (5 starred reviews–also on hold). Any thoughts from anyone?

Far Far Awayby Tom McNeal also has 5 starred reviews, but you thought it had some pretty fatal flaws. Again, include it?

I think we  both thought Maggot Moon was both flawed and too young.

I haven’t read Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass, by Meg Medina, which has 4 starred reviews.

And where’s the nonfiction? Is there anything out there that is really YA nonfiction this year?

What have I left out? What should be removed from this list? What absolutely has to be discussed?

– Mom

4 Comments

Filed under Awards, Books, Teens

4 responses to “End of the Year

  1. Fangirl is not a Printz book, lots of plots that don’t hang together especially meaningfully for a start. Yaqui Delgado Wants to Kick Your Ass is very good, but might be more of a BFYA Top Ten than weighty enough in a literary sense for Printz.

  2. I agree that FANGIRL is not a Printz book while ELEANOR AND PARK really should be considered, even though I enjoyed the former much more than the latter. I also think you should keep FAR FAR AWAY on the list…it’s one of the strongest I’ve read this year, on par with ROSE UNDER FIRE and WINGER for me. I could probably make an argument for REALITY BOY, but I might need a reread to do so.

  3. Pingback: Contemporary realistic fiction | crossreferencing

  4. I’ve heard good things about The Coldest Girl in Coldtown for Printz, but man…I just finished it and I didn’t fall in love with it. Still…

Leave a Reply

