Best of 2013 So Far, Sarah’s Take

Mark,

Obviously, there’s still a lot of reading to do, but here are some thoughts on 2013 books:

I agree with you about 17 & Gone, by Nova Ren Suma, and Pieces, by Chris Lynch. More to come, in a later post, on Pieces.

And, as you noted in that post, we disagree about Midwinterblood, which is still rattling around in my brain, so I think it has to go on my list. I haven’t read Yellowcake yet (though I have a copy now) or Primates, but I look forward to both. I’m reading A Corner of White right now, and if it holds up, it may make my list; so far it’s original and quirky and fun.

Other books that are rising to the top for me:

The Lucy Variations, by Sara Zarr. I talked about this book a few weeks ago. I am not sure that it will hold strong all year long, but for now, it’s up there.

I just finished Winger, by Andrew Smith. I will have more on this in a later post, too. Again, I’m not certain it has the staying power, but it was certainly a great read that surprised me in several ways, and that’s always a good thing.

Here are some books that may be contenders, and may require re-reading down the road to be sure. In all cases, my initial response was less than enthusiastic, but I think they all deserve more consideration:

Black Helicopters, by Blythe Woolston. I discussed it here.

Eleanor and Park, by Rainbow Rowell. Also discussed here.

Uses for Boys, by Erica Lorraine Scheidt. Discussed here.

Reality Boy, by A.S. King. This is a tough one. I found this book so painful to read that I had to keep putting it down. And I mean that in a good way! I wanted to be like the hockey mom, who just gave poor Gerald a big hug–only I also wanted to somehow get him away from his godawful family. But as you said in your Goodreads review, was the family a little over the top? I’ll be interested to hear more discussion on this one, too.

Books that were fun to read, but for which I don’t think there’s enough there there:

The Moon and More, by Sarah Dessen

The 5th Wave, by Rick Yancey

Just One Day, by Gayle Forman

This is What Happy Looks Like, by Jennifer E. Smith.

I haven’t read much nonfiction yet, so that’s something I’ll have to make a point of.

– Mom

1 Comment

Filed under Awards, Books, Teens

One response to “Best of 2013 So Far, Sarah’s Take

  1. Pingback: One Year Old! | crossreferencing

Leave a Reply

