Mock Printz 2014

Mark,

Sorry for the blog silence. I actually have been reading, but everything I’ve finished recently has been a book I’m reviewing for either VOYA or AB4T, so I can’t really talk about them yet. I’m in the middle of finishing up a few 2012 books, but mostly I’ve moved on to 2013, which brings me to today’s topic:

I know I mentioned this in passing a week or two ago, but now I’d like to make it official: let’s run a Mock Printz program  for 2013 titles.

Here’s my thought:

  • We’ll continue to read and discuss young adult  books on this blog during the year, as we have been doing since August, and we’ll encourage our readers to comment and challenge us.
  • In June, around the time of ALA Annual, we will put out a list of early contenders, based on reviews and our own reading.
  • In late October, we’ll come up with a list of about 15-20 likely titles for the final list.
  • In late November, we’ll winnow that to 8-10 finalists, and encourage everyone who wants to participate to read them.
  • In January 2014, we’ll find a location somewhere in the San Francisco Bay Area and invite any interested parties to join us for a three- or four-hour meeting to discuss the finalists and vote on our Mock Printz winner and honor books.
  • At the same time, if we decide we have enough interest, we can run an online vote and see how that compares to the in-person vote.

I have no delusions that we (I) will be able to read anything like the number of books that the real Printz committee will, and I have no expectations that we will come up with the same book that they will. But I’m hoping that having this in mind will encourage me to take notes on the books I read, and that it will encourage me to think more critically about them. Plus, I haven’t been on a book committee in a while, and I think it will be fun to make an opportunity to talk about books in person with other passionate readers.

This, of course, doesn’t mean we can’t continue to talk about children’s books or adult books or anything else that comes up. It’s our blog, after all!

So what do you think? Any refinements to the process?

– Mom

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Teens

2 responses to “Mock Printz 2014

  1. Pingback: 17 & Gone | crossreferencing

  2. Pingback: Best of 2013 So Far | crossreferencing

Leave a Reply

