Mark’s 2012 Wrap-up

Mom,

I too will not finish any books today, so here’s my year end summary.

Statistics

  • Books Read in 2012: 303
  • Books Read in 2011: 165
  • Books Read in 2010: 115
  • Books Read in 2009: 144
  • Books Read in 2008: 132
  • Books Read in 2007: 136
  • Books Read in 2006: 71
  • Books Read in 2005: 35
  • Books Read in 2004: 95

In addition to the 303 books I read, I reread 15 titles this year.  As you can see, this year was a pretty staggering one for me, in large part because I set out (around March) to see if I could keep up the reading load that would be required for being on the Printz or Newbery committee.  I think I passed.  Next year will in all likelihood be back down in the 100s, for my own and my wife’s sanity.

Average read per month: 26.5
Average read per week: 6
Number read in worst month: 18 (May)
Number read in best month: 33 (July)
Percentage by male authors: 49.4% (157)
Percentage by female authors: 50.6% (161)
Nonfiction as a percentage of the total: 22.6% (72)
Fiction as a percentage of the total: 77.4% (246)
Books published in 2012 or 2013: 160

Favorite Books I Read This Year 

I’m counting any book I read for the first time this year, not including 2013 titles, and I’m listing a simple top ten (in alphabetic order by author) for fiction and nonfiction, because it’s too hard to sort through all the age levels.

Nonfiction:

  • The Case for God – Karen Armstrong
  • The Case of Sacco and Vanzetti – Felix Frankfurter
  • Titanic – Deborah Hopkinson
  • Medusa’s Gaze and Vampire Bites – Matt Kaplan
  • We’ve Got a Job – Cynthia Levinson
  • The First Fossil Hunters – Adrienne Mayor
  • Destiny of the Republic – Candice Millard
  • Bomb – Steve Sheinkin
  • The Code Book – Simon Singh
  • The Collapse of American Criminal Justice – William Stuntz

Fiction:

  • Seraphina – Rachel Hartman
  • The Toys series – Emily Jenkins
  • Ask the Passengers – AS King
  • Brides of Rollrock Island – Margo Lanagan
  • Land of Decoration – Grace McCleen
  • The Clementine series – Sara Pennybacker
  • The Art and Craft of Asking Your Boss for a Raise – Georges Perec
  • Yellow Birds – Kevin Powers
  • Liar and Spy – Rebecca Stead
  • Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs – Mo Willems

Obviously I’ve talked about many of these books on this blog, or over on various SLJ blogs.  Also obviously, there are far too many runners-up to even begin to name.  This was a wonderful year of reading for me, and as you can see, an incredibly varied one – from Karen Armstrong’s books on religion early in the year, down to Mo Willems’s hilarious take on Goldilocks, which just made it under the wire as a Christmas present (from you) for Elsa.

Happy New Year to you and all our readers!

– Mark

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Children, Teens

One response to “Mark’s 2012 Wrap-up

  1. Pingback: 2013 Wrap Up | crossreferencing

Leave a Reply

