End of the Year Wrap-Up

Mark,

Although I have several more books I’m currently reading, I think it is highly unlikely that I will finish any more books today. So, here is my end-of-the-year reading wrap-up:

Total  Books Read in 2012 132
Total Books Read in 2011 105
Total Books read in 2010 101
Total Books read in 2009 118
Total Books read in 2008 100
Total Books read in 2007 107
Total Books read in 2006 114
Total Books read in 2005 138
Total Books read in 2004 134

As you can see, 2012 was a good reading year for me, due in no small part to this blog. Of the 132 books, I read 59 of them in September, October, November, and December, trying to keep up with you and to have plenty to say for this blog. By the way, the totals don’t count my re-reads, and there were several of those, mostly for the purposes of blogging about them.

So here are a few statistics for the year:

2012:
Average read per month: 11
Average read per week: 2.5
Number read in worst month: 4 (March)
Number read in best month: 20 (December)
Percentage by male authors: 28% (37)
Percentage by female authors: 72% (95)
Nonfiction as a percentage of the total: 11% (14)
Fiction as a percentage of the total: 89% (118)

Hmm . . . I thought I had read more nonfiction than that. I did start a few nonfiction books that I never finished, and I didn’t count those.

Adult Books: 30

YA Books: 66

Children’s Books: 36

My division of children’s and YA books is fairly arbitrary. I counted Bomb as YA and Liar and Spy as children’s, for example, although I suppose cases could be made for either of those in the other category. Most of the children’s books I read were in the upper age ranges, although there were a handful of picture books in there, too.

Favorite books I read this year (not necessarily published this year):

Adult:

Among Others, by Jo Walton

To End All Wars: A Story of Loyalty and Rebellion, 1914-1918, by Adam Hochshild.

Tell the Wolves I’m Home, by Carol Rifka Brunt

Redshirts, by John Scalzi

We Sinners, by Hanna Pylvainen

Swim: Why We Love the Water, by Lynn Sherr

Children’s:

The One and Only Ivan, by Katherine Applegate

Shiver Me Timbers: Pirate Poems and Paintings, by Douglas Florian & Robert Neubecker

Toys Go Out, by Emily Jenkins

Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs, by Mo Willems

Liar and Spy, by Rebecca Stead

The Mighty Miss Malone, by Christopher Paul Curtis

YA: Well, I’ve done this before in various ways, but this time it’s just plan personal favorites, judged by the ones I’m most likely to re-read:

The Brides of Rollrock Island, by Margo Lanagan (also gets a vote for best cover)

Code Name Verity, by Elizabeth Wein

Bomb, by Steve Sheinkin

Titanic: Voices from the Disaster, by Deborah Hopkinson

Graffiti Moon, by Cath Crowley

The Opposite of Hallelujah, by Anna Jarzab

And, finally, the books I recommended most to other people this year, and talked about most, with both colleagues and with “lay people” (i.e., non-library folks):

Chopsticks, by Jessica Anthony and  Rodrigo Corral

Seraphina, by Rachel Hartman

Code Name Verity, by Elizabeth Wein

Monstrous Beauty, by Elizabeth Fama

Bomb, by Steve Sheinkin

So, Mark, you or anyone else want to share their 2012 summary of reading?

– Mom

1 Comment

Filed under Books, Children, Teens

One response to “End of the Year Wrap-Up

  1. Pingback: 2013 Wrap Up | crossreferencing

Leave a Reply

