More to Look for in 2013

Mom,

Great list of titles.  I’m especially excited about the Sheinkin and the Flinn – Rapunzel is one of my favorite fairy tales for retelling because it has so much subtext that repays closer examination.  Looking ahead to 2013 is pretty easy for me, since as I mentioned last week, I’ve already begun reading some 2013 titles. So, before I get to the books I’m looking forward to, here are a few I’ve already read which I strongly recommend:

  • 17 and goneNova Ren Suma, 17 & Gone (Dutton). I was one who adored Suma’s Imaginary Girls, but thought it had some major flaws that kept it from perfection. This time around, Suma fixes her flaws with plot and balance and creates another gorgeously evocative story of grief and loss.
  • Margo Lanagan, Yellowcake (Knopf).  Another story collection from Lanagan. Pay special attention to the story “Catastrophic Disruption of the Head” (great title) which simply demolishes Hans Chrisian Andersen’s (incredibly creepy) fairy tale “The Tinderbox”. “Catastrophic Disruption” is probably the best thing I’ve read all year, and the rest of the collection doesn’t disappoint either.
  • Yellowcake cover[1]Alan Bradley, Speaking From Among the Bones (Delacorte). I think I missed a couple of Flavia de Luce books in there, and I’m not sure that it much matters since they are pretty formulaic, but I love them to death anyway, and this one was no disappointment.
  • Jonathan Kirsch, The Short, Strange Life of Herschel Grynszpan: A Boy Avenger, a Nazi Diplomat, and a Murder in Paris (Liveright).  I’m reviewing this one for Adult Books 4 Teens. It’s a riveting account of a young Polish-German Jew who assassinated a low-level Nazi Diplomat in 1938, an assassination which the Nazis used to justify Kristallnacht, just two days later. Ever since, no one has quite known what to make of Grynszpan, and Kirsch does an amazing job of untangled the web of conspiracy theories, gossip, and propaganda that has stuff to Grynszpan for the last 70 years.

And a book just for you:

  • Peter Meltzer, So You Think You Know Baseball?: A Fan’s Guide to the Official Rules (Norton).  An intensely nerdy book which uses real life examples to quiz the reader on the proper application of the rules of baseball. For this baseball fan, it was pure heaven.

The number one book I’m looking forward to that I haven’t read is Laurie Halse Anderson’s Ashes, the conclusion to the Seeds of America trilogy. It was supposed to come out this year, but it appears to have been pushed back to February.

Others:

  • hysteriaMegan Miranda, Hysteria (Walker). This book just got a 5Q/5P VOYA review, and I have an egalley all lined up. Can’t wait.
  • Rainbow Rowell, Eleanor and Park (Griffin). Starred review in PW and 5Q in VOYA. Looks like a straight-forward realistic romance, but apparently a great one.
  • Marcus Sedgwick, Midwinterblood (Roaring Brook). I’ve never completely adored a Sedgwick book, but I greatly admired Revolver, White Crow, and the Book of Dead Days, so I’ll be looking for this one.
  • Cory Doctorow, Homeland (Tor). Surprised you didn’t mention this one, as you’re always a big Doctorow fan.
  • Six_Gun_Snow_White_by_Catherynne_M_Valente-200x311Catherynne Valente. Six-Gun Snow White (Subterraean). PW gave this a star, and it’s written by the always imaginative Valente, but honestly, I’m looking forward to this based on the title alone.

I’m sure there are many more books that I’m dying to read that I haven’t thought of or don’t realize are coming out.  When’s the next Diviners book?  The sequel to Seraphina?  What else are our readers looking forward to?

– Mark

7 Comments

Filed under Books

7 responses to “More to Look for in 2013

  1. I disagree that the Flavia de Luce books are totally formulaic and it doesn’t matter if you have skipped some of them. While the mysteries are more or less in the Christie-small-village-vein,there is the bigger mystery/story arc going on regarding the family — Flavia’s unduly mean sisters, distant father, and what the hell is it about her mother anyway? This latest ends up with a cliffhanger ending (albeit not totally unexpected).

  2. And so it does matter if you’ve skipped some as you may well have missed some major aspects of the big story. (Sort of like missing the big stuff in Lost, Fringe, or the X-Files for that matter.)

  3. Mark Flowers

    Thanks for the comment Monica. I guess I have some reading to do!
    I didn’t quite mean formulaic as an insult–I think the books compare quite well with the best Agatha Christies or (on the children’s end) Nancy Springer’s Enola Holmes books. In fact, it sounds like Enola Holmes might be the best comparison, since there is an overarching plot to those books (also involving the main character’s missing mother) that is probably not as apparent if you don’t read them in order. So, I’ll definitely be going back to read the ones I missed now.

    • Mark, I realize you didn’t mean it as an insult, but just wanted you to be aware that there is a very cool bigger story going on. The Enola Holmes books are a good analogy.

  4. Be sure to look for THE WHOLE STUPID WAY WE ARE by N. Griffin, coming in February… just got a star from PW, and a good review from Kirkus.

    • Mark Flowers

      Thanks Wendy – that was immediately helpful as I somehow missed putting it in my orders cart for this month. My library will now have a copy as soon as it comes out.

  5. Pingback: Twisted Shorts | crossreferencing

Leave a Reply

