Looking Ahead to 2013

Mark,

As the year is winding down, I’m starting to look ahead to 2013, and thinking about what books are coming out that I’m particularly looking forward to seeing. Here’s my first batch of must-reads for the new year:

I’m really looking forward to Isla and the Happily Ever After, by Stephanie Perkins. This is the companion novel to Anna and the French Kiss and Lola and the Boy Next Door. This is due out from Dutton, tentatively set for May 7.  I know I’m not alone in loving Perkins’ way with words and her delightful romantic characters, so this will be a hot book in 2013.

This next one is a bit uncertain, but here’s the word from Garth Nix’s website:
“I’m writing CLARIEL: THE LOST ABHORSEN at the moment. It is set about 300 years before the events of SABRIEL, in an extremely settled era of the Old Kingdom, where is almost no threat from the Dead or Free Magic, and the Abhorsens are considered something between an archaic remnant of worse times and municipal rat-catchers. Clariel will probably be a 2013 release.”

I may have to reread the Sabriel/Lirael/Abhorsen trilogy before the new one comes out–but perhaps not, since this one occurs earlier. But anyway–a new Garth Nix high fantasy–Yay!

This next one is coming soon: Steve Sheinkin’s Lincoln’s Grave Robbers (Scholastic, January). AfterLincoln The Notorious Benedict Arnold and Bomb, I am a Steve Sheinkin fangirl, so I’m very excited about this one. This is a story I’m not at all familiar with, but apparently in 1875-76, grave robbers really did attempt to steal Abraham Lincoln’s body from its tomb in Springfield, Illinois. From what I know (without reading Sheinkin’s book), the grave robbers were fairly inept, but also security was fairly lax, so this has the possibility of being both exciting and humorous. Can’t wait!

I was a big fan of Hattie Big Sky, by Kirby Larson, a 2007 Newbery Honor book. In February, Delacorte will release the sequel, Hattie Ever After, hattieand I’ve already requested it from Netgalley, so I’m looking forward to reading this one soon.  World War I is over, and Hattie, now that she is no longer tied to her uncle’s homestead, wants to become a reporter, like Nellie Bly, so she’s headed for San Francisco. I love the cover art, with her stylish clothes and the cable car in the background.

I’ve been enjoying Alex Flinn’s fairy-tale retellings over the past several years (Beastly, Cloaked, A Kiss in Time) Toweringand this is the latest: a retelling of Rapunzel, called Towering, due out from HarperCollins in May. You can always count on Flinn for a unique twist on the tale, so this one could be nicely creepy.

At the YA Lit Symposium in November, YALSA was giving away galleys of Chris Crutcher’s new book, Period 8.  Unfortunately, I didn’t get my hands on one, but fortunately, Netgalley came through again. This one is due out from HarperCollins in January. It’s been a few years since we’ve had a new Crutcher, so I’ll be reading this one eagerly, and soon!

I liked Lauren Oliver’s Pandemonium requiemeven better than Delirium, and she isn’t making us wait too long for the next installment: Requiem, due out from HarperCollins in March. Apparently, Requiem is told from the points of view of both Hana and Lena, with their stories converging in the end.

I talked about enjoying the romance The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight last week. Jennifer E. Smith’s new book, This is What Happy Looks Like, will be out from Little, Brown in April. It’s apparently about a relationship between a teenage movie star and a small-town girl, conducted first by email, then in person. Sounds like fun!Happy

Here’s the tagline for Black Helicopters, by Blythe Woolston (Candlewick, March): “A teenage girl. A survivalist childhood. And now a bomb strapped to her chest.” BlackHelicopters

Here are a few others that I’m looking forward to seeing, based on their descriptions:

The Lucy Variations, by Sara Zarr (Little, Brown,  May). A promising teenaged concert pianist walks away from it all.Lucy

Wise Young Fool, by Sean Beaudoin (Little, Brown, August). “Teen rocker Ritchie Sudden is pretty sure his life has just jumped the shark. Except he hates being called a teen, his band doesn’t play rock, and “jumping the shark” is yet another dumb cliché. Part of Ritchie wants to drop everything and walk away. Especially the part that’s serving ninety days in a juvenile detention center.”

The Rules for Disappearing, by Ashley Elston (Hyperion, April). A girl in witness protection.

Boy on the Bridge, by Natalie Standiford (Scholastic, August). A semester abroad in Leningrad in 1982, and a love thwarted by the Cold War.

How about you? What are you looking foward to reading in 2013?

– Mom

2 Comments

Filed under Books, Teens

2 responses to “Looking Ahead to 2013

  1. Jen J.

    Oh dear – I’m still trying to madly get through 2012 books! And so many of these sound so good. I loved Hattie Big Sky so am definitely looking forward to that sequel. Alex Flinn has been on my to-read list for a long time; I’m a sucker for fairy tale retellings – maybe this will finally be the one of hers that I get to! I’ve also heard very good things about Rainbow Rowell in general so I’m looking forward to Eleanor & Park. What I’m really hoping is that an audio of the FitzOsbornes at War is in the works – I’ve listened to the first two and fallen in love with Emma Bering’s narration, but so far I only see a print edition available. Other sequels I’m looking forward to are the next volume in Nielsen’s Ascendance Trilogy and the next His Fair Assassin book by LaFevers,

  2. Pingback: Back to Printz Thoughts | crossreferencing

Leave a Reply

