Sarah’s 2013

Mark,

I was just working on my own stats when I saw your post. I’m humbled by your prowess!

I read 127 books in 2013, which is a pretty typical year for me.

The breakdowns:

74 YA and children’s books–mostly YA; 53 Adult books.

35 by male authors; 92 by female authors.

111 fiction; 16 nonfiction.

86 were published in 2013 or 2014.

I only read a couple of graphic novels–one fiction, one nonfiction, and one poetry collection, which I lumped in with nonfiction.
Favorites:

I want to start by mentioning a book I read at the end of 2012 and reviewed for AB4T: Eight Girls Taking Pictures, By Whitney Otto. I read it too late in the year to nominate it for the best of the year list, and in any case, I think it has limited (though real) teen appeal. But this book has been my reader’s advisory triumph of 2013. I recommended it to four different women (including your wife), and each one of them came back to me afterwards to tell me how much they had loved the book and how much it meant to them. Considering how much reader’s advisory we all do with no feedback whatsoever, that’s obviously a success! What was intriguing to me was how each reader noticed and commented on different aspects of the book: father/daughter relationships, mother/child relationships, art/life, career/family, and more.

This year, I read my first Maisie Dobbs book, by Jacqueline Winspear. I know Maisie Dobbs was an Alex winner back when it was new (10 years ago) but I hadn’t read any of the books until this year, when I read the first five.  I also went back and read some of Kate Atkinson’s earlier books in the Jackson Brodie series: Case Histories and Started Early, Took My Dog.  I’m planning to read more of both series.

I also indulged myself by listening to Jim Dale’s masterful productions of all seven Harry Potter books . Thanks to my library’s Overdrive subscription, they were my near-constant companions for a couple of months this fall, while I was knitting some rather large Christmas gifts! It was really pretty fascinating to listen to all seven books in a row, and see the connections.

I feel like I’m way behind on reading Printz-worthy books, and I didn’t really push myself too much this year.  Books that are still rattling around in my brain months later include Black Helicopters  (Woolston),  Yellowcake  (Lanagan), Charm and Strange (Kuehn), Picture Me Gone (Rosoff), and September Girls (Madison).

Books I don’t think have a chance at the Printz but that I personally loved included Just One Year (Forman), The Beginning of Everything (Schneider), and Fangirl (Rowell).

Books we’ll want to talk about in 2014 include Laurie Halse Anderson’s upcoming The Impossible Knife of Memory, and E. Lockhart’s We Were Liars.

I see I didn’t read much science fiction or fantasy this year.

And, as always, I wish I had read more nonfiction, although percentage-wise, it’s a pretty typical amount: 12.5% of my reading. I anticipate correcting that in 2014, when I will be on YALSA’s Excellence in Nonfiction for Young Adults committee. (Of course, although I’ll be reading plenty of YA nonfiction, I won’t be discussing it here.)

- Mom

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Adults, Books, Children, Teens

Leave a Reply

