I Called One!

Mark,

Today YALSA announced the five finalists for the William Morris Award for a Debut YA work.

Of the five, I’ve read one, started one, had one sitting on the shelf for months, and haven’t even heard of two.

The one I have read is Charm and Strange, by Stephanie Kuehn, which I talked about here several months ago. At the time, I said I hoped the Morris committee was looking at it, so I called that one, at least!

The one I started is Dr. Bird’s Advice for Sad Poets by Evan Roskos. I picked it up at the library several months ago, but couldn’t get into it–it just felt a bit precious to me, but perhaps I just wasn’t in the mood for it. I would be interested in your take, though, since the main character has an anxiety disorder, and you know more about that than I do.

The one I have had on the shelf is In the Shadow of Blackbirds, by Cat Winters. Spanish Flu pandemic: check. World War I: check. San Diego: check. It’s just the spiritualism aspect that has held me back, I think. But I’ll definitely take a look at it now.

The two I haven’t even heard of are Sex and Violence, by Carrie Mesrobian, and Belle Epoque, by Elizabeth Ross.

Some random thoughts:

  • 3 contemporary, 2 historical
  • 3 with male main characters (two of those written by women), 2 with female main characters
  • 2 (possibly 3) about forms of mental illness
  • no fantasy or science fiction this year

How about you? Have you read any?

- Mom

2 Comments

Filed under Awards, Books, Teens

2 responses to “I Called One!

  1. SEX AND VIOLENCE is very, very good…interesting use of a very ambiguous main character.

  2. Pingback: Morris and Nonfiction | crossreferencing

Leave a Reply

