Elsewhere

Hi Mom,

I don’t have much to say this morning, so I thought I’d send you and our readers to some stuff I’ve written elsewhere:

1) An interview with Kevin Powers: http://www.slj.com/2012/10/books-media/author-interview/the-debut-the-yellow-birds-kevin-powers/

Powers wrote The Yellow Birds, one of my favorite adult books of the year and a National Book Award finalist.  I gave it a starred review for SLJ, and then got the chance to talk to Powers via email about the book.  The Yellow Birds is in some ways a pretty standard “coming home from war” novel, in structure.  But what sets it apart is Powers’s terrific command of language.  I strongly recommend it – and check out the interview, because Powers is a really articulate guy.

2) The Edwards Award in numbers: http://www.yalsa.ala.org/thehub/2012/10/21/the-edwards-award-the-once-and-future-thing/

Over at The Hub we’ve been doing a series of posts on “The Next Big Thing”, a concept which I find kind of suspect.  In any case, I took the opportunity to look at winners of the Edwards Award and see how often they have continued to be “The Next Big Thing” and not just “The Last Big Thing.”  I found out a lot of interesting things, most obviously: Laurie Halse Anderson is amazing.

3) Medusa’s Gaze: http://blog.schoollibraryjournal.com/adult4teen/2012/10/22/medusas-gaze-and-vampires-bite/

Here’s my SLJ review of Matt Kaplan’s Medusa’s Gaze and Vampire’s Bite: The Science of Monsters. I already mentioned this book last week when I talked about mythic monsters and new ways of approaching them.  I also strongly recommend this one to anyone interested in monsters.

- Mark

Leave a comment

Filed under Awards, Books

Leave a Reply

